Naptime truths

28 Feb

Need advice for how to get a baby to nap well? Well, let me chuckle and apologize–that is not what I have to offer here. My nap approach, much like my parenting so far, has very much been try my best/hope for the best/go with the flow. But here are some truths about naptime at our house.

Naptime is precious. I admit I carefully calculate what I can do while Little L is awake and what I can do only when he’s asleep. Laundry can be done amidst games of baby toss on the bed. Cooking can be done (most times) with baby in the carrier. Hair-drying can be done with baby in the bouncer. Meanwhile, I find that the three R’s–reading, writing, and ‘rithmetic (i.e. finances and the like)–are best done while baby sleeps.

One minute of baby waketime is worth two minutes of baby naptime. So even if it takes, say, 20 minutes to get a baby down for a 40-minute nap, it was still totally worth the effort. Technically you netted 40 minutes. At least, that’s what I told myself when Little L was taking nothing but maddeningly short catnaps. (And thankfully, he has lately been taking more in the range of five minutes to fall asleep.)

Murphy’s Law totally applies to naps. If I need to get out the door somewhere, that’s when L decides to take a two-hour nap. If I need to get something done, of course he will opt to take a 30-minute nap.

A baby falling asleep is a magical thing to behold. One minute he’s squirming and squealing, next minute his eyes are rolling and his eyelids are getting heavy. Open, close, open, close, open, close … stay closed a little longer… open … close. Baby out.

A sleeping baby is irresistible to admire. When L was a newborn, even when I was at my most sleep-deprived, sometimes in lieu of sleeping myself, I would just gaze into his perfect, peaceful face. And now I find myself peeking at him, marveling at the contrast between his chirpy, awake self and his quiet, sleepy self.

Naptime = parental victory. Whenever Dave is home and I have successfully put Little L down for a nap (or bed), I emerge victorious from the nursery and raise my arms, Rocky-like. Dave mirrors my gesture, and we both declare: “VICTORY.”

IMG_1884

One Response to “Naptime truths”

  1. Heidi Van Woerkom March 21, 2014 at 7:04 pm #

    I didn’t know you were blogging again! Love it! Love yoU!

Leave a Reply

