On the (mostly) bright side on a sick day

11 Jul

A few nights ago, I woke up at 3 a.m. and puked my guts out.

Oddly, my first thought in my mostly-thoughtless state was Well, I’m kind of glad I had morning sickness back when I was pregnant.

Prior to being pregnant, on the few occasions when I had food poisoning or something like that, I managed to resist throwing up. Even though it tends to make you feel better, I just wouldn’t do it. Then when I was pregnant and felt nauseated* for a good portion of nine months, I lost the battle. Vomiting became routine.

So when I got sick the other night, my body shot back out that bad slice of pizza (or whatever it was?) like it ain’t no thang. And I actually felt a little better afterward.

Now that I’m feeling a bit better, my 3 a.m. optimism sounds a bit odd: I’m grateful that persistent puking made it possible for me to puke some more! Yay! But I’m sticking to it.

I’m also sticking to being grateful about other things, such as:

  • Even though baby got a fever (probably from a recent vaccine, as the doctor warned), it meant he didn’t have a big appetite and thus didn’t eat the evil pizza that made Dave and I sick, so he was spared the pukey variety of illness.
  • I didn’t get sick until baby had recovered, so I wasn’t a sick mama trying to take care of a sick baby.
  • As I curled up on the living room floor in the fetal position for most of the day, Lars kept himself entertained (in mostly not-playing-with-the-trashcan ways).

Also, I happened to be reading The Fault in Our Stars (I know, finally) so I became a bit of a hypochondriac (I could have cancer and not know it!), but also thought, you know, it could be worse. I’m really grateful I don’t have a chronic illness–the closest thing I’ve come to that was pregnancy, and it was pretty awful. Then again, I don’t think that thinking “could be worse” is the best form of gratitude, because sometimes your circumstance is the worst (see: cancer), but you still have to get through it as best you can (see: this talk). Which is hard. But that’s life.

You’re welcome for being so inspiring. If you want to cheer up, go read The Fault in Our Stars. (Kidding! But not kidding, because it is worth reading.)

Also, on the subject of TFiOS relating to our brief illness: If you can handle discussing your excrement with your significant other, you probably have a pretty solid relationship.

 

* Editor’s note: This is an actual editor’s note, because I wouldn’t note this if I weren’t an editor. Because I am an editor, the word nauseous is ruined for me. I learned in my English Usage class that when we say nauseous, what we technically mean nauseated. So every time I complained of morning sickness, I would painstakingly say “I feel nauseated.” Spreading the knowledge, from the “nauseous, nauseated” entry in Ebbitt & Ebbitt’s Index to English, 8th Edition:

Traditionally, nauseated means “sickened, disgusted” (I felt nauseated at the sight) and nauseous means “causing sickness or disgust” (The smell was nauseous). But the use of “feeling nauseous” and “getting nauseous” has become so common that dictionaries now record “nauseated” as a second meaning of nauseous. Those who grew up observing the distinction find this usage ambiguous. (Was he sick, or was he sickening?)

2 Responses to “On the (mostly) bright side on a sick day”

  1. Karen H. July 12, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

    I used to have a good supervisor who would say after things didn’t go quite right “and the lesson learned is.” Lesson learned from the past is you are no longer afraid of vomiting. That’s good.
    p.s. Love your editor’s comment.

  2. Heidi Van Woerkom July 16, 2014 at 6:52 pm #

    Great post and I’m sorry you were sick, but glad you’re better. Being sick, however it presents itself, always teaches us something. I liked reading about your new found wisdom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

